

Guide to Cabinet

The Executive or Cabinet of the Herefordshire Council consists of a Leader and Deputy Leader and six other Cabinet Members each with their own individual programme area responsibilities. The current Cabinet membership is:

Cllr David Hitchiner (Leader) (Independents for Herefordshire)	Corporate Strategy and Budget
Cllr Liz Harvey (Deputy Leader) (Independents for Herefordshire)	Finance, Corporate Services and Planning
Cllr Diana Toynbee (The Green Party)	Children's and Family Services, and Young People's Attainment
Cllr Gemma Davies (Independents for Herefordshire)	Commissioning, Procurement and assets
Cllr Ellie Chowns (The Green Party)	Environment and Economy
Cllr Pauline Crockett (Independents for Herefordshire)	Health and Adult Wellbeing
Cllr Ange Tyler (Independents for Herefordshire)	Housing, regulatory services, and community safety
Cllr John Harrington (Independents for Herefordshire)	Infrastructure and Transport

The Cabinet's roles are:

- To consider the overall management and direction of the Council. Directed by the Leader of the Council, it will work with senior managers to ensure the policies of Herefordshire are clear and carried through effectively;
- To propose to Council a strategic policy framework and individual strategic policies;
- To identify priorities and recommend them to Council;
- To propose to Council the Council's budget and levels of Council Tax;
- To give guidance in relation to: policy co-ordination; implementation of policy; management of the Council; senior employees in relation to day to day implementation issues;
- To receive reports from Cabinet Members on significant matters requiring consideration and proposals for new or amended policies and initiatives;
- To consider and determine policy issues within the policy framework covering more than one programme area and issues relating to the implementation of the outcomes of monitoring reviews.

Who attends cabinet meetings?

Members of the cabinet, including the leader of the council and deputy leader – these	
are the decision makers, only members of the cabinet can vote on recommendations	
put to the meeting.	
Officers of the council – attend to present reports and give technical advice to cabinet	
members	
Chairpersons of scrutiny committees – attend to present the views of their committee	
if it has considered the item under discussion	
Political group leaders attend to present the views of their political group on the item	
under discussion. Other councillors may also attend as observers but are not entitled	
to take part in the discussion.	